blog-img

Marketing thought leaders for L&D to follow

Learn future L&D trends by following other industries

Learning and development is constantly changing and following other industries, like marketing, is a great way to keep pace. I have repeatedly found that “trends” appear in L&D eight years after they are successful in marketing. In fact, over the years I saw the early emergence of blended learning, mobile learning, and microlearning long before most L&D professionals were thinking about these.  Likewise, concepts like personalized communication, audience data mining, apps, interactive video, digital curation and more are already entrenched in marketing.

That being said, where can you go do dip your toe in the marketing world? I caution you to have a focus to your search, as otherwise, it’s overwhelming and not relevant. So I’ve compiled a list of useful resources and I encourage you to skim.

There’s a variety of blogs on social mediacontent marketing, and other different marketing types, so it’s difficult to identify which ones best serve general marketing needs. Here’s a summary of interesting marketing thought leaders to follow or at least check out.

In addition, inc.com has a few recommendations as well with descriptions of each which can be useful in your curation efforts.  I also read marketing articles or review marketing issues and “translate” them for relevant to L&D, so visit my blog.  Lastly, you contributed great ideas during our session today (thank you!) and I’ve added those here.

 

MARKETING INSPIRATION

Ogilvy & Mather http://www.ogilvy.com/

Marketing Magazine – www.campaignlive.co.uk/brand?src_site=marketingmagazine

Strategy magazine – http://strategyonline.ca/issue/

 

MARKETING TACTICS

The Knowledge Bank – http://blog.influenceandco.com/

HubSpot https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing

Convince and Convert – http://www.convinceandconvert.com/blog/

Duct Tape Marketing – http://www.ducttapemarketing.com/blog/

Marketing Land – http://marketingland.com/

 

MARKETING DATA

Kiss Metrics https://blog.kissmetrics.com/

 

DIGITAL MARKETING

Marketing Land https://marketingland.com

 

PODCASTS

Hidden Brain

How Does it Work

Omnimedia

 

TV IDEAS

Notice the “intros” and “outros” that are used by television news.

Observe how the Food Network does a brilliant job of explaining cooking lessons in a practical approach

 

THOUGHT LEADERS

Seth Godin: http://sethgodin.typepad.com/

Brian Solis – http://briansolis.com/

Gary Vaynerchuk https://www.garyvaynerchuk.com/blog/

Tom Asacker https://tomasacker.com/videos/

 

TRENDS AND OVERALL IDEAS

Art of the Title www.ArtOfTheTitle.com

Trend Hunter www.Trendhunter.com

HBR Idea Cast

Try revisiting the founders of our industry – Mager, Gangne etc to refresh

For more tips on how to use relevant, proven marketing trends into L&D, visit the BTS blog or email Danielle.Wallace@BeyondtheSky.ca

 

 

Got something to say?

  • Get the AI for Learning infographic

    No spam guarantee.